Firm News

Reckis Trial Team Finalists for Public Justice 2016 Trial Lawyer of the Year Award

Posted by:

As summer 2016 draws to a close, Meehan Boyle staff and attorneys look back fondly on one of its most memorable moments. Meehan Boyle was very honored that the attorneys and paralegals comprising the Reckis Trial team were finalists for the Public Justice Foundation’s Trial Lawyer of the Year Award for their work in the trial, and success against the defendants’ appeals in Reckis v. Johnson & Johnson, 471 Mass. 272 (2015), cert denied, 136 S. Ct. 896 (2016). The team attended the Public Justice Trial Lawyer of the Year gala in Los Angeles, CA on July 24, 2016. In attendance at the gala were Meehan Boyle attorneys Brad Henry, Leo Boyle, Michael Bogdanow, Valerie Yarashus, Victoria Santoro and attorney Robert Peck from the Center for Constitutional Litigation and Meehan Boyle paralegals Catherine Croteau, Alexandra Buckingham and Nora Carroll.

The Public Justice Foundation recognizes that trial lawyers are committed to the preservation of justice for individuals and groups that have suffered injustice and harmful abuses.

The selection of finalists recognizes the broader significance of the David-and-Goliath battles that the trial teams had to face.

Nominated cases are evaluated on the public interest significance, the harmfulness of the defendant’s conduct, and the amount awarded. Cases often combat social and economic injustice, protect the earth’s sustainability or challenge predatory corporate conduct. You can view the interview of Brad Henry detailing Samantha Reckis’ fight against the pharmaceutical giant and the significance of her case by clicking here. You can also view the interviews of the finalists and the winners by following this link.

Pic 2

Pic 3

Pic 4